Ridiculously Epic…

Right and wrong are just words. What matters is what we do

Tis the Season

on December 7, 2010

I spent Saturday with Ernest and his family. I cooked them dinner (his parents, step-bro, and step-bro’s girlfriend) and then we played Dance Central on the XBox Kinect. After Steve and Jaeryn left, I helped decorate their Christmas tree. Debbie (Ernest’s mom) asked when the last time I decorated a tree was, and I couldn’t remember. So I consulted my ever-wise mother, who later informed me that the last time my family was together to decorate a Christmas tree was in 2004; and apparently that was only with me, my dad and my mom.

I do have my own little Christmas tree, but didn’t have any decorations for it until last year – and with the exception of 1 from a little girl named Claire who was one of my preschoolers, they actually all belong to Jess. It came with lights on it, that was decoration enough I suppose.

Since my parents separation in 2008, I haven’t really been excited for Christmas. The last Christmas they were together they spent apart – my mom and I went to Vermont and my dad stayed in Ohio.Then 2 weeks after we got back the beginning of the end began when my mom moved back to Vermont and the separation became a reality. The divorce was final September 2008, and both my parents had started seeing someone else in March of 2008. So when Christmas rolled around, it kinda sucked. I mean, I still had my dad, grandparents and uncle, but it just wasn’t the same. And my family didn’t really help – they basically told me to suck it up and get over it because everyone else had. So unfortunately, Christmas just hasn’t appealed to me since 2007. Which kinda sucks, because Christmas is supposed to be great and stuff.

But you know, Tis the Season and such. Hopefully this Christmas will give me reason to be excited about it again…we’ll see. So far, so good though. Going to Vermont to see my family for Christmas for the first time in 3 years, I’ve got Ernest, and his family who are super amazing and make me feel important. It’s nice to know that your boyfriend makes you feel important, but that his family does too? That’s just amazing. Some of my friends might think it’s weird, but I think it’s awesome. I love that they care, it means a lot. So, you know, it’s looking up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

