Ridiculously Epic…

Right and wrong are just words. What matters is what we do

The answer to life the universe and everything = 42

on January 13, 2011

Every year for the past 3 years (at least), I have posted a “Year-In-Review” survey-type thing on my old blog – at LiveJournal. I contemplated starting that “tradition” here – but I just can’t. I’m not sure why, but I just don’t want to and feel like it’s silly and a waste of time. But here’s what I will do, I will post a blog about how much I hated 2010.

My parents got divorced in 2007, and ever since then things have just been in a rut. It’s really silly though, because nothing really majorly terrible happened in 2008, but in 2009 I lost my job. Then there was 2010 – the year that shit on Jessi. I lost my job the Monday before Christmas 2009, but had another job secured within a week. It appeared that 2010 was going to be good! In February, I got a new-to-me car that has caused me lots of problems (but was perfect for the previous owners). Then my boyfriend of 5 years broke up with me in March. In May I lost my nanny job, but started working at the Barkley. In June I spent 13 days out of town – part in Chicago and part in Vermont. July is when I met my current boyfriend, and when my ex decided that he wanted me back. I spent the next couple months trying to figure out what the hell to do. In September I had to be rushed by ambulance to the hospital for kidney stones and had a $5500 hospital bill that (thankfully) was taken care of by the hospital’s financial assistance program thingy because I didn’t have insurance, but I didn’t find that out until November. In October Ernest and I finally figured out that we should be together and made it “official.” I spent about 17 days in California at the end of October-beginning of November helping train and open the new Barkley, which meant about 15 days of working 12+ hours straight and 4 flights. I spent a week in Vermont for Christmas in December (another 2 flights, plus a 5 hour delay in Washington DC on my way home). Then I got a new job right before I went to Vermont, and had my last day at the Barkley January 2.

Sure, it doesn’t seem that bad. There were a couple big things – but there were a lot of little things too that aren’t really worth writing about because they’re mostly personal issues that I don’t feel like sharing. I guess 2010 wasn’t necessarily the “year that shit on Jessi” in hindsight, but it sure felt like it along the way.

I’m really excited about 2011. Ernest and I are amazing together and are planning on moving in together this summer when my lease is up and he graduates, plus I have a new job that is better paying and has insurance. I’m happy, and content, and although I still have no freaking clue what I want to do with my life – at least I’ve got myself into a better place. I haven’t been this happy or excited about things in a long time, and it’s kind of weird – but nice.

With that being said – it’s time to get ready for work. I feel like this post is unfinished though. Hm…

Leave a Reply

