Ridiculously Epic…

Right and wrong are just words. What matters is what we do

Complicated: Difficult to analyze, understand, explain, etc.

on January 27, 2011

I want to go back to school. I graduated from college in May of 2008, which means that this May I will have been a college graduate for 3 years. Did you get that? 3. Years.

That makes me feel old. I’ll be 25 in June. A quarter of a century old. (Side bar: I want a HUGE deal made out of my birthday this year. Start planning y’all!)

So I decided I want to go back to school, like, a year ago. The problem is threefold:

1) I have no idea what the hell I want to do with my life
2) I have no money/little faith in getting grants or scholarships/don’t want to take out more money for loans
3) The GRE scares the crap out of me

I’ve been looking at programs and fields for a year. Interior Design (exciting at first, but just not “it.”), Chef (I decided that I’d end up hating cooking if I were a chef), Anything education related (I have no desire to work in a public school, therefore education-related degrees seem pointless), the list goes on. I still have no idea what I want to do with my life, but Cleveland State’s Master’s of Applied Communication Theory & Methodology sounds absolutely awesome. I still don’t know what the hell I’d do with it, or my life, but I think I want to do it.

Plus the program offers financial assistance. Bonus.

And then there’s still the GRE. Which is terrifying. I’m a horrendous test taker, which is why I sucked so bad when I was a Psychology major – everything is test related. I knew the material, I studied, I could answer questions about it otherwise…but once I was in the classroom and that test was in front of me it was like I never even went to class. Everything just disappeared from my mind. It was terrible! Plus the GRE is ‘spensive. Apparently they are offering 50% off for taking the test between August and September, which is cool…but would hinder the enrollment of me into any program for the Fall 2011 semester.

Why does everything have to be so damn complicated?

Leave a Reply

